Lemme tell you how great my family is.

Just one really quick thing about my host family. I always talk about how great they are and I’m going to continue to do so. They are currently down in the kitchen, singing to their daughter as they make blackberry jam. HOW CUTE IS THAT. That wasn’t was I was going to say, but that just happened so I figured I’d through that in here. The point I want to make here is important to those future DIS students who want to travel is that you can still do that and live with a host family. DIS makes a point to say that if you want to spend a lot of your weekends traveling that a host family might not be the option for you. I would like to politely disagree with them. The majority of my weekends have been scheduled for travel and so far I’ve been just fine getting to know my family. They spent a week in Spain right before our travel break so I went a whole two weeks without seeing them and it was really nice to be able to see each other all at once. They haven’t been angry and I haven’t felt like I have been missing out on getting to know them because I’ve been traveling. Maybe it’s my situation, but I think that you can have your cake and eat it too (with a host family that is.)

Don’t let that stop you from living with a family. I promise it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

